Fingerprint for Relative Clause

Hello everyone! I am a postgraduate student with a computational background, and I just happened to learn anything about linguistics and the ERG. It has really taken me a long time to understand different basic linguistical knowledge, and even the more advanced ERG by going through page by page of http://moin.delph-in.net/ and also http://svn.delph-in.net/erg/tags/1214/. Finishing documentation is a long way to go, and I would appreciate your help if professors or researchers here could advise me on and guide me through the learning process.

Here is one of my confusion. I read that the fingerprint of finite relative clause can be identified by (from: http://moin.delph-in.net/ErgSemantics/Ccs?highlight=%28relative%29%7C%28clause%29):
h1:[ARG0 x]
h1:[ARG0 e{TENSE tensed}]
However, I found an example that I am confused:
“She is the girl who hadn’t arrived.” with the DMRS:
loc
As seen from the DMRS, after the neg predicate (or generally any scopal modifier?) is added, the neg takes the same label as _girl_n_1. As a result, _arrive_v_1 does not share the same label (which means different scope?) with _girl_n_1. Moreover, neg is untensed so the fingerprint is nowhere to be found in this example.

Currently, I find it the hardest to understand the concept of “scoping”, esp. when a normal sentence can have up to thousands of readings with different scoping and it is just impossible to understand each of them. I have read about “quantifier scoping”, but when it comes to the hole-handle relations between non-quantifiers, or even verbs in MRS, things just complicate. Any guidance on these? Thanks in advance for your help!

1 Like

This fingerprint doesn’t match all relative clauses. (In fact, the page you’ve linked to also mentions that it doesn’t match untensed relative clauses.)