How to implement ditransitive verbs in a Grammar Matrix-based grammar?

Hi! In collaboration with @arademaker, I’m developing a new HPSG grammar for Portuguese, which will be distributed under a free open-source software license.
I’m using the Grammar Matrix customization questionnaire to build the first version of the grammar. I’m impressed with how much I’ve accomplished with this system in few months, since I’m a beginner in HPSG. Practically all my previous work in grammar engineering was carried out within the LFG using the Xerox Linguistic Environment.
While the customization questionnaire covers a significant portion of Portuguese syntax, the available argument structure options only cover a small amount of the valency patterns of the language. For example, it doesn’t support the implementation of ditransitive verbs. Quite fortunately for HPSG beginners, the core grammar component matrix.tdl, which is generated by the system for every grammar, does contain a wider range of valency pattern types, including ditransitive-lex-item. However, the code seems overwhelmingly complex for me, so that I didn’t succeed in creating a functioning subtype for ditransitive verbs in an English minigrammar I’ve used to learn the system and the underlying formalism. I guess this customization would be a trivial task for experienced developers of HPSG grammars . So I’m asking for help here.
Given the definitions of the general transitive-lex-item and its customized version transitive-verb-lex:

transitive-lex-item := non-local-none-no-hcons & basic-icons-lex-item &
   [ ARG-ST < [ LOCAL [ CAT cat-sat,
                        CONT.HOOK [ INDEX ref-ind & #ind1,
                                    ICONS-KEY.IARG1 #clause ] ] ],
              [ LOCAL [ CAT cat-sat,
                        CONT.HOOK [ INDEX ref-ind & #ind2,
                                    ICONS-KEY.IARG1 #clause ] ] ]>,
     SYNSEM [ LKEYS.KEYREL [ ARG1 #ind1,
                             ARG2 #ind2 ],