Toggling doesn't persist after saving

I’ve been using the toggle_element() function defined in matrix.js pretty extensively in my questionnaire to hide or display some elements. The problem is that when I “save and stay” or go away from the page, while the choices I’ve entered persist, the sections that were toggled to visible are now invisible. The user has to re-click the options that trigger toggling to get them to show up again. This could be due to an issue in how I’m calling toggle_element(), or it could be part of how `toggle_element() is defined. I’m working on this, but I have no javascript experience, so I wanted to ask generally if anyone can see as solution to this that I don’t see. Here’s a link to my sandbox where you can see the behavior I’m talking about: http://matrix.ling.washington.edu/ekayen/matrix.cgi?subpage=adnom-poss

Here’s the definition of toggle_element() in matrix.js, follwed by an example of where I call it:

function toggle_element(id, how, switchOn) {
  how = how || "toggle"; // set default to "toggle"                      
  switchOn = switchOn || null; // set default to null                    
  switchActive = true; // Ignore switch unless switchOn activates        
  // Get element to toggle                                               
  element = document.getElementById(id);
  if (switchOn) {
    switchActive = false; // If switchOn, do nothing by default          
    // Check to see if the node is a standard node                       
    if (element != null && element.nodeType == 1) {
      // This switch currently only works with select tags               
      if (this.tagName.toLowerCase() == "select") {
        // If switchOn matches selected element, then do the toggling    
        if (switchOn.indexOf(this.options[this.selectedIndex].value) > -\
1) {
          switchActive = true;
        }
      }
    }
  }
  // If element found and switch active, do the toggling